Stable barn from Asterode

Außenansicht Stallscheune aus Asterode

Exhibition building

Built: 1802/1832; at the close of the 19th century/at the beginning of the 20th century
Disassembled: 1983
Reconstructed: 2007 to 2009

In its original location, this two-storey timber-framed barn with a solid brickwork stable extension belonged to a large four-sided farmstead. At the time of its greatest flourishing, it came with about 50 hectares of land. Until the mid-1960s crops were grown and livestock raised. The actual farmstead alone, measuring about 6,000 square metres, contained the residential building with the commercial distillery, two retirement cottages, various buildings to house livestock, barns with horse stables, storage, a vegetable garden and a meadow orchard.

The left part of the building is the oldest part. The dedication stone names David Schreiber, who had the barn built, and his wife Anna Elisabeth, and also the year 1802. According to an inscription, the middle part of the barn was built in 1832, and the extension to the right went up between 1880 and 1920. Johann Heinrich Schreiber, the son of the original owner, expanded the farmstead in the 1840s by building a new dwelling. This Schreiber was the most eminent member of the family, since he was elected as a representative to the assembly of the estates of the Electorate of Hesse in Kassel in 1862. In 1851, a daughter of Schreiber’s, Anna Elisabeth, married the economist Heinrich Haas from Steindorf. This was the beginning of the Haas family’s ownership of the farmstead.

The historic timber-frame structure is a mantle only; it frames a modern steel construction with suspended ceilings. The threshing floor with the great double door has been designed as an open foyer, a sort of gallery space which visitors enter through a glass vestibule.

Since autumn 2009, the Open Air Museum has been operating the Asterode stable barn as a modern, accessible exhibition centre which meets the necessary technical and climatic conditions within the mantle of this historic building. Annually changing exhibitions on topics related to folklore and cultural history are shown on its 300 square metre exhibition area.

 

Location in the Hessenpark

Das Ausstellungsgebäude Stallscheune aus Asterode im Frühling

Ausstellungsgebäude

Erbaut: 1802/1832, Ende 19./Anfang 20. Jahrhundert
Abgebaut: 1983
Wiedererrichtet: 2007 bis 2009

Die zweigeschossige Fachwerkscheune mit massiver Erweiterung in Ziegelbauweise gehörte am alten Standort zu einem großen Vierseithof der Familie Haas, der zu seiner Blütezeit fast fünf -zig Hektar Land umfasste und auf dem bis Mitte der 1960er-Jahre Ackerbau und Viehwirtschaft betrieben wurden. Allein auf der etwa 6000 Quadratmeter großen Hoffläche befanden sich das Wohnhaus mit gewerblicher Schnapsbrennerei, zwei Auszugshäuser, Stallungen, Scheunengebäude mit Pferdestall, Lager räume, Bauerngarten und Streuobst wiese.

Der linke Teil des Gebäudes ist der älteste; der Hausstein nennt neben dem Erbauer David Schreiber und dessen Frau Anna Elisabeth die Jahreszahl 1802. Der mittlere Teil der Scheune wurde laut Inschrift 1832 errichtet, der rechte zwischen 1880 und 1920 angebaut. Der Sohn des Erbauers, Johann Heinrich Schreiber, erweiterte die Hofanlage in den 1840er-Jahren mit der Errichtung des Wohnhauses. Er war das bedeutendste Familienmitglied, denn er wurde 1862 als Abgeordneter in das kurhessische Ständeparlament Kassel gewählt. 1851 heiratete eine Tochter Schreibers, Anna Elisabeth, den Ökonomen Heinrich Haas aus Steindorf. Seit diesem Zeitpunkt ist die Familie Haas im Besitz der Hofanlage.

Hinter dem historischen Fachwerk als Außenhülle verbirgt sich im Inneren eine Stahlkonstruktion mit schwebend aufgehängten Decken. Die Tenne mit dem zweiflügeligen Tor ist zum offenen Foyer mit Galeriecharakter gestaltet, das man durch einen gläsernen Windfang betritt.

In der Stallscheune aus Asterode betreibt das Freilichtmuseum seit Herbst 2009 ein modernes, barrierefreies Ausstellungshaus mit den dafür notwendigen technischen und klimatischen Anforderungen in der Hülle eines historischen Gebäudes. Dort werden auf mehr als 300 Quadratmetern Fläche jährlich wechselnde große volkskundlich-kulturgeschichtliche Ausstellungen präsentiert.

Standort im Hessenpark