Synagogue from Nentershausen

Synagogue from Nentershausen

Built: between 1785 and 1800
Dismantled: 1986/87
Reassembled: 1996

This former synagogue from Hersfeld-Rotenburg county consists of two very different timber-framed buildings: on the left, there is a two-storey house, the synagogue extension, and on the right, there is a single-storey building containing the actual sanctuary. According to dendrochronological examination, the timber was felled in 1785, which is presumably the year the synagogue was built. It is also conceivable, however, that the synagogue was originally a single-storey agricultural structure belonging to Jacob Jeremias Erben, a Jew, and was only later used as a place of worship. Archive material shows that the building was being used as a synagogue around 1800 at the latest. 1841 saw a thorough renovation. On this occasion, the separate entrance to the women’s gallery by ways of an outside stairway was added. In 1925, the synagogue was altered once again as documented by an inscription (see illustration on p. 215).

During the November Pogroms of 1938, the building was damaged but not completely destroyed, as the civilian population remained passive. The synagogue’s interior was ravaged; the valuable scriptures and the liturgical instruments were burned. The assailants tried to saw through the timber posts on the gallery bearing the weight of the roofing an attempt to make it collapse, but failed. The saw broke, and to this very day a piece of the blade is lodged in the post.

Shortly after, in December 1938, Johannes Krause, a building contractor from Nentershausen, bought the synagogue and the extension and used it as a garage. Three large doors were put into the synagogue’s long side. Later, the building served as barn, storage, or workshop without ever being renovated. By 1985, the synagogue’s state had deteriorated so badly that a demolition permit was granted.

The building has been accessible to visitors once more as part of the Open Air Museum since 1996. It contains the sanctuary, furnished as it would have been after the 1925 renovation. The extension features a mikve, a ritual immersion pool, which was built in Nentershausen in 1886 but only used for a few years.

More Links

Location in the Hessenpark

Synagoge aus Nentershausen

Die ehemalige Synagoge aus dem heutigen Landkreis Hersfeld-Rotenburg besteht aus zwei unterschiedlichen Fachwerkgebäuden: links ein zweigeschossiges Haus, der Synagogenanbau, rechts ein eingeschossiger Bau mit dem eigentlichen Synagogenraum. Nach dendrochronologischen Untersuchungen (Jahrringanalyse) stammen die Bauhölzer aus dem Jahr 1785, dem anzunehmenden Baudatum des Gebäudes. Es ist aber auch denkbar, dass das Bauwerk ursprünglich ein eingeschossiges Wirtschaftsgebäude des Juden Jacob Jeremias Erben war und erst später als Synagoge genutzt wurde. Aus den Archivalien geht hervor, dass die Synagoge spätestens um 1800 bestand. 1841 fand eine umfassende Renovierung statt. Bei dieser Gelegenheit entstand der separate Zugang zur Frauenempore über die Außentreppe. 1925 wurde ein weiterer Umbau vorgenommen.

Während der Novemberpogrome 1938 wurde das Gebäude stark beschädigt: Das Innere der Synagoge wurde verwüstet, die wertvollen Schriften und das kultische Gerät verbrannt. Auf der Frauenempore versuchte man, die tragenden Holzpfeiler zu zersägen und so das Dach zum Einsturz zu bringen. Dieser Versuch scheiterte jedoch. Die Säge brach ab und noch heute steckt ein Stück des Sägeblattes im Balken.

Noch im Dezember 1938 kaufte der Bauunternehmer Johannes Krause aus Nentershausen die Synagoge sowie den Anbau und verwendete sie fortan als Garage. In die Längsseite der Synagoge wurden drei große Einfahrtstore eingebaut. Später diente das Gebäude als Scheune, Abstellraum oder Werkstatt, ohne jemals renoviert zu werden. 1985 war die Synagoge so baufällig, dass eine Abrissgenehmigung erteilt wurde.

Seit 1996 ist das Gebäude im Freilichtmuseum wieder für Besucher zugänglich. Es beinhaltet den eingerichteten Synagogenraum im Darstellungszeitraum nach der Renovierung 1925. Im Anbau befindet sich eine Mikwe, ein rituelles Tauchbad, wie es in Nentershausen 1886 eingerichtet war, aber nur wenige Jahre benutzt wurde.

Weitere Links

Standort im Hessenpark